Day of Relaxation

13 01 2008

I call it day of relaxation to avoid calling it a day of laziness. After waking up at 9am after two hours of sleep to listen to the penguins lose in a shootout, I went back to sleep and woke up at about 5. That’s what happens when you don’t sleep the night before. So basically I did nothing today. I was semi-productive by cleaning my bathroom(ふろば) and doing some laundry(せんたく).  I don’t know why I put that in hiragana. Seemed like a good idea at the time I guess.

 So last night the third wheel girl that is from England has been here for three years, and she is really good at Japanese. I listen to her talk with so much jealosy its amazing lol. She tells me she is so impressed with how much I know with only being here for 2 months, but my stupid ass can’t take that as a compliment. It’s like someone saying when your running a marathon,  “your doing good so far!” in the first mile. I mean I guess its good she said it, but it really means nothing. Almost a crying moment.

I am looking forward to next weekend though to go out with the same crew if it actually happens.

Tomorrow is Japanese lesson. So I have to wake up by 10 but I’m sure I’ll be up all night tonite since my day started at 5pm. I’ve studied a lot of japanese today, so I should be able to sleep tonite without feeling like I didn’t do enough lol.

Japanese Observation of the day….. If anything is CLOSE to cool or cute looking… EVERYONE in the group will yell out Kawaii!!!! (which means cute). Its like a chain reaction. If one person says it, everyone else in the group feels the need to repeat it. It’s insane. I admit I used this word in Tokyo when talking about ladies, but at work if someone comes in with a cool hat, three ladies in the lobby will yell out KAWAII! when they see it. Nothing wrong with it, just an interesting Japanese culture point I have noticed. Oh you like my blog? KAWAIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIII!

Something crazy about Japanese language. There is counters for EVERYTHING. I will try to give an abbreviated list here. There are seperate counters for the following items;

Long Cyndrical Items (trees, chopsticks) – hon (ほん)

Flat Thin Items (stamps, paper) – mai (まお)

Small Things (buttons, other small things lol) – ko (こ)

Liquid in things (soup bowls, beer bottles) – hai (はい)

Bound Items (books, magazines) – satsu (さつ)

Machines (cars, fax machines) – dai (だい)

Floors (1st floor, 2nd floor, etc.) - ikai (いかい)\

Houses, Buildings (2 houses, 3 buildings) – ken (けん)

There are more, but I’ll stop there due to laziness.

So for example, in the case of liquid filled things, you have to learn a new 1-10.

1-10 in Japanese is usually;

ichi,ni,san,shi/yon, go, roku, nana/shichi, haichi, kyu, ju.

But in the case of a counter, you have learn a whole new set of 1-10.

ip-pai, ni-hai, san-bai, yon-hai, go-hai, rop-pai, nana-hai, hap-pai, kyuu-hai, jup-pai.

Cool huh? lol

 Japanese word of the day: Mondai nai desu! No problem! – Yeah it’s not as funny as some other japanese words but I have a hard time remembering this one.

Music of the Day… Not Music but an awesome prank call… Hilarious. Sal and Richard from the Howard Stern Show…Laugh People…It’s Funny

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

