The Final Chapter in the tale of the Eastern Capital

6 01 2008

Yeah I thought there would be more chapters too. But It’s hard to remember all the events a week later. But this one night was epic. EDITORS NOTE: More Pictures will be added to these posts, once the others involved post the pictures they took.

On our last day with all the teachers together, in the morning we went to the Emperor’s palace which as already been recapped. After coming home and napping till about six, it was time to rock out again.

We started in Shibuya again, of course with a stop to check out my main man Hachiko first. Then we met some other teachers for our last karaoke adventure. This place was the cheapest yet and instead of bringing individual glasses of beer, they just brought on the pitchers so everyone was feeling especially nice. After a few hours of karaoke madness, we head out. In the hallway on of the other teachers saw this particularly attractive lady, and he was drunk enough to let her know about it. I kept saying sorry sorry but apparently she didn’t mind becuase her and her friend invitied our whole group into their karaoke room!

After some small talk in both Japanese and their half english everyone was feeling good. I sort of served as the translator for the whole group.  I explained how we were all teachers, and for some reason they assumed I was the boss. So for the rest of the night whenever I sang a song, at the end they would yell YEAAAA BOSSSS!!! It was pretty funny. I kept saying now I am not the boss but they didn’t want to hear it. One guy was sort of talking to one of the girls in our group, and he asked permission to talk to her since I was the boss. I was like dude its ok! I’m not the boss. It was just funny.

karaokecrowd

After more drinks, I was feeling really good and lively so I choose a Japanese song I sort of knew. I didn’t realize how big a hit this would be with the group. I sang it with the cutest girl in the room, which was another perk. The best way I can describe it is it was as if I was personally complimenting their country and giving them this gift of learning to read Japanese. It was really cool how excited they were. I wasn’t perfect to be sure with my reading, but no one cared. Random excited hugs commenced with the whole group. The Boss was feeling good.

karaokegirl

THEN we were talking about music everyone likes, and I said I love the movie Nana. Quick Point: If you like ANYTHING Japanese, the people will be surprised and excited. Expect to hear Sugui!(wow) a lot. So the girl(forgot name Me=drunk) I had now been talking to for a while, surprised me by picking my FAVORITE Japanese song and wanting to sing it with me. I was so floored when it came on. It was again written in only Japanese so my reading was again tested, but it didn’t matter. It was so awesome. The whole room was singing it with us, and if I would ever catch eyes with one of the people in the room they would just give me the thumbs up or say The boss rules! About halfway through the song, the moment had all hit me at once. This is a moment I had came here for. My crappy ass writing can’t write good enough to explain what I’m saying. The song itself is about missing people, so my mind traveled to all my friends that wont get to experience this and how lucky I was to get the chance. I was definitly fighting the emotions from coming on to strong. Near the end when everyone was screaming yeah boss! I just hugged everyone, and told the girl I sang with she helped my dream came true and kissed her on the cheek. I don’t think she got it, but it didn’t matter. I will never forget it. What a moment.

karaokecrowd2

After about another 45 min or so the rest of the teachers weren’t having as much fun as me and I sensed it, so it was time to go. I told everyone I’m so happy we met and we left. It didn’t matter what happened after that but the fun times weren’t over. We found this small ass bar and head on in at about 4-5 am. The whole place was dancing and we jumped right in. I pushed me and another teacher right into the heart of the dance floor. I’ve learned now that is the way to meet the most people at one of these establishments, even though I would be petrified in US doing that since I’m stupid.

I met this one dude who was about 20. I told him that I thought this one lady was especially sekushii(say it outloud). He said ooo that is my favorite girl in this place. So i said fuck it let’s go! He was nervous but I took his ass over there and let him dance with her. He thanked me soo much it was a really cool moment. When leaving he said I thank you sooo much! It made me feel good.

 That was basically it. Reading back, I don’t think I conveyed how awesome this night was well enough. My writing sucks. But it really really was. Beleive it! Met a TON of cool japanese, cute girls, a ton of cool conversations, sooo much fun.

My music of the day will be from the most popular billboard around Tokyo these days. ayumi

Ayumi Hamasaki – ” talking 2 myself”
Rock Out. EDIT: Real Video Got taken down….but you can still enjoy the music!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

